Fishing License for Seniors – Age & Price by State
Fishing is a great activity for senior citizens. Many states offer free or discounted licenses to encourage seniors to fish more. We’ve researched the requirements and pricing for senior licenses for each state.
Our research found:
- 14 states offer free licenses for seniors.
- 35 states offer discounted licenses for seniors.
- Wyoming is the only state that doesn’t offer discounts for senior fishing licenses.
The map below shows which states offer discounts and which states offer free fishing for seniors.
States That Offer Senior Fishing Licenses
Senior Fishing License Age Eligibility & Cost
The age required to be eligible for a senior fishing license range from 60 to 89 years old, with the most common age being 65. 14 states offer free licenses. The average cost of discounted senior fishing licenses is $9.50.
|Alabama||65 and older||Free|
|Alaska||60 and older||Free|
|Arizona||70 and older||Free|
|Arkansas||65 and older||$10.50|
|California||65 and older||$8.24|
|Colorado||65 and older||$10.23|
|Connecticut||65 and older||Free|
|Delaware||65 and older||Free|
|Florida||65 and older||Free|
|Georgia||65 and older||$7.00|
|Hawaii||60 and older||$1.00|
|Idaho||65 and older||$13.75|
|Illinois||65 and older||$7.75|
|Indiana||64 and older||$3.00|
|Iowa||65 and older||Lifetime – $61.50|
|Kansas||65 and older||$15|
|Kentucky||65 and older||$12.00|
|Louisiana||60 and older||$5.00|
|Maine||70 and older||$8.00|
|Maryland||65 and older||$5.00|
|Massachusetts||70 and older||Free|
|Michigan||65 and older||$11.00|
|Minnesota||89 and older||Free|
|Mississippi||65 and older||Free|
|Missouri||65 and older||Free|
|Montana||62 and older||$8.00|
|Nebraska||69 and older||$5.00|
|Nevada||65 and older||$15.00|
|New Hampshire||68 and older||Free|
|New Jersey||70 and older||$12.50|
|New Mexico||70 and older||Free|
|New York||70 and older||Free|
|North Carolina||65 and older||$16.00|
|North Dakota||65 and older||$5.00|
|Ohio||66 and older||$10.00|
|Oklahoma||65 and older||Lifetime – $25.00|
|Oregon||70 and older||$6.00|
|Pennsylvania||65 and older||$11.97|
|Rhode Island||65 and older||Free|
|South Carolina||64 and older||Lifetime – $9.00|
|South Dakota||65 and older||$12.00|
|Tennessee||65 and older||$4.00|
|Texas||65 and older||$12.00|
|Utah||65 and older||$25.00|
|Vermont||66 and older||Lifetime – $60.00|
|Virginia||65 and older||$9.00|
|Washington||70 and older||$7.50|
|West Virginia||65 and older||Lifetime – $25.00|
|Wisconsin||65 and older||$7.00|
Frequently Asked Questions
What age do you no longer need a fishing license?
The average age to be eligible for a senior fishing license is 65 years old.
How much is a fishing license for senior citizens?
The average cost of a senior fishing license is $9.50.
Many states have others that are exempt from needing a fishing license.
Note: State laws are subject to change through the passage of new legislation, ballot initiatives, rulings in courts, and other means. While we strive to provide the most up to date information available, please consult a lawyer or verify the state law(s) you are researching.
We strive to provide the most accurate and up-to-date information possible. We routinely review and update our articles but don’t always make corrections as soon as they happen. If you see incorrect information please help us by submitting a correction form.